“(Turk) Finished -2 first round for t25. Glad to see him getting some traveling in. Leader at -8.
Alice missed both par 5's on the back 9 and ended with a dissapointing bogey to finish her round at -1... 5 off current lead but she'll probably end up in the 30's after first round. Darts tomorrow Alice.”
Also . . . MyfavOrange® ‘s Weekly Pick is Collin Morikawa . . . he has rallied to birdie 3 of his last 4 holes and currently sits @ -3 after 8 holes and is T-4th Place . . . (He is looking at an 11’ putt for another birdie too!
Looks like someone is off to a good start for a pair of shoes.
At least Lucas gets 4 rounds. Smh, another 2 foot bogey on a par 5 ugh. Nice 14 footer for birdie the hole before. Then he misses 3 fairways in a row to right rough but makes nice up and downs for par....
Then sitting pretty in the fairway on 8 and 9 and pulls his approach on both to end up bogey bogey. Funny game.
I'm a fan of Zalatoris, but did not like that late breaking penalty on Cameron Smith this past week. Certainly Smith gained no advantage from his drop. And where was the PGA ref when Smith needed him? I guess Smith could/should have requested more help but perhaps could not delay his group's play either? What was your take? Thanks in advance ...
Cameron knew the Rules . . . being: no part of the ball can be touching any part of the “red hazard line” . . . He admitted that the ball was touching . . .
Did he gain an advantage? NO
I would have been ok with the Officials administering the Penalty during that Round or when the Card was being turned in . . . but to administer it the next day after his score had been attested . . . seems wrong.
Where does “Golf” draw the line . . . Is it never too late? Can we go back to one of Arnold’s Victories and find a discrepancy in the Rules and add strokes? When do you allow a “grey area” to exist?
My feelings in short . . . I have no issues with the penalty administered . . . I do struggle with the timing in this incidence.