GIVE AN AWARD
Use your CatCoins™ to grant this post a special award and grant the author bonus CatCoins™!

Love Love Love!
monetization_on 1000
Quality Content
monetization_on 1000
Big Fish
monetization_on 1000
Hmm
monetization_on 1000
Flammable
monetization_on 1000
Caring
monetization_on 1000
Nom Nom Nom
monetization_on 1000
Ooo, Shiny!
monetization_on 1000
Hear ye, hear ye
monetization_on 1000
Cheers
monetization_on 1000
Bravo
monetization_on 500
Grats
monetization_on 1000
Take My Coins
monetization_on 1000
Great Idea!
monetization_on 1000
Nope
monetization_on 1000

YOUR BALANCE
monetization_on
Softball runner truck infielder…what is the rule?
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Tiger Boards - Clemson Football
add New Topic
Replies: 12  

Softball runner truck infielder…what is the rule?

[1]
Apr 17, 2022, 7:38 PM

Just what is the rule in this instance?

Seriously flattens the first baseman who is directly in the base path.

https://fanbuzz.com/college-softball/softball-runner-flattens-first-baseman/?utm_campaign=secfb&utm_medium=agora&utm_source=facebook&utm_term=secfb&fbclid=IwAR05_-dH5FB5LIHwCeu3h9pwKQMcn-WXy5pEqxD_7N3hYcw8_jEVJnAWdYo


Message was edited by: UFTiger®


2022 white level memberbadge-donor-15yr.jpg flag link

Re: Softball runner truck infielder…what is the rule?


Apr 17, 2022, 8:00 PM

Just guessing, but in baseball you can’t block the runner, so I would suppose the same is true in softball.

military_donation.jpg flag link

Re: Softball runner truck infielder…what is the rule?


Apr 18, 2022, 12:08 AM

Actually, even in baseball if the runner interferes with a player while attempting to field a hit ball the runner is out. It becomes a dead ball and any base runners have to return to their previous base. Now had she already caught the ball it becomes a different situation.

military_donation.jpg flag link

Re: Softball runner truck infielder…what is the rule?

[1]
Apr 18, 2022, 12:29 AM

I should have clarified. The fielder cannot block the base the base with or without the ball. If the fielder is attempting to field a ball the runner can't interfere.

military_donation.jpg flag link

Re: Softball runner truck infielder…what is the rule?

[2]
Apr 17, 2022, 8:02 PM

The rule is listed in your link: a fielder must have an opportunity to field the ball; the runner may not interfere either accidentally or intentionally. Considering how far down the base path the fielder was, it seems to be malicious and the ejection was likely the correct answer here. Oh, and the runner was later beaned on her next at-bat when they played another game.

badge-donor-05yr.jpg flag link

It looks like the popup hit the runner in the back


Apr 17, 2022, 8:11 PM

as she was slamming into the fielder. I think that would make her out on the play anyway.

2022 purple level memberbadge-donor-05yr.jpg flag link

Re: It looks like the popup hit the runner in the back

[2]
Apr 18, 2022, 12:14 AM

No, because she was in foul territory. That’s why runners on third stay in foul territory when the ball is hit. That way they are not hit by a fair ball and automatically called out.

military_donation.jpg flag link

Re: It looks like the popup hit the runner in the back


Apr 18, 2022, 2:18 PM

It's not kickball...

2022 orange level memberbadge-donor-10yr.jpg flag link

Re: Softball runner truck infielder…what is the rule?


Apr 18, 2022, 8:12 AM

Back in the day playing American Legion, I missed a sign or the batter missed a sign on squeeze (coach never said). I saw squeeze and the batter said he saw safety squeeze. Anyway, I took off from 3rd, he took a called strike and I was caught in no man's land. After 2 attempts in a run down, I decided to head back to 3rd and see how hard I could hit the 3rd baseman to try and jar the ball loose rather than take on a padded up catcher. I hit the 3rd baseman so hard, he rolled 2 backward somersaults into left field but held onto the ball and I was out. I was not ejected because he was blocking the bag in the base path.


Message was edited by: saddis56®


2022 white level member flag link

similar play in my daughter's HS game last week


Apr 18, 2022, 10:03 AM

there was a bad throw to first that pulled the 1B off the bag and she was kneeling in the baseline between first and second. The runner ran her over to get to second. She was ruled out and ejected.

2022 white level memberbadge-donor-05yr.jpg flag link

Re: similar play in my daughter's HS game last week


Apr 18, 2022, 2:27 PM

If they use baseball rules, they missed that call badly.

"bad throw" has completely different rules than a "hit ball"

The 1st baseman should have never been in the baseline without possession and if the throw pulled her into the baseline, the runner still has a right to the baseline and is not required to avoid contact.

Unless the runner lowered her shoulder and intentionally took out the fielder.

That's an ejection. Running over a fielder who is interfering by being in the base path is not.

2022 orange level memberbadge-donor-10yr.jpg flag link

Runners have the responsibility...


Apr 18, 2022, 10:22 AM

to avoid a fielder who is in the process of fielding a batted ground ball or pop fly, even if it takes them out of their running lane otherwise, the runner is called for offensive interference.

On the other hand, if the infielder is in the baseline when the ball is hit, and he/she is not in the process of fielding the ball, he/she needs to move out of the path of the runner.

In the video, the play constitutes offensive interference and the runner is out by rule, and frankly, should have been ejected for unsportsmanlike conduct.

2022 orange level memberbadge-donor-25yr.jpg flag link

Sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.


Re: Softball runner truck infielder…what is the rule?


Apr 18, 2022, 2:23 PM

If the runner was doing everything she was supposed to be doing and the fielder was doing everything she was supposed to be doing, then most likely it's a "no call."

If the runner lowered her shoulder or makes more forceful contact than necessary, that's different.

I watched the video and I'm not sure. She might be ejected for intentionally running over the fielder because she had her hands out when she made contact but if she's not then she's safe at first.

A runner can't hit a fielder in the middle of the base path because the assumption is they have time to go around to the next base, but with the hitter running full speed with her head down and the 1st basemen being so close to first, the runner doesn't have an obligation to slow down or side step.

That's my interpretation for baseball anyway.

I'd assume softball is the same but who knows.

2022 orange level memberbadge-donor-10yr.jpg flag link

Replies: 12  

TIGER TICKETS

FB GAME: Season Tickets
FOR SALE: Two section UE $2200 for the pair.

Buy or Sell CU Tickets and More in Tiger Tickets!

Tiger Boards - Clemson Football
add New Topic
1580 people have read this post