If you're driving and a tree is across the road ahead of you but it never interferes with your journey because you run into a ditch before you get to it, then that tree is not an obstruction/blockage for you.
If you're running to 2nd base and no fielder obstructs/blocks the base path causing you to change directions but tags you out before you ever get to the bag where he's standing, you didn't get obstructed/blocked.
Just the way I see it. He was out well before his lead hand came close to the fielders foot at 2nd.
I guess my thought was when the tag was applied. It was before the runner got interfered with. He was tagged 2-3 feet away from the bag so the interference didnt really come in to the play.. the play was over by the time he got to the spot where the defender was in the way. The rule may not be written that way but that was the problem I had with it.
That’s not how it happened, the tag came well after the Interference. I wish I could rewind the live broadcast on the ACC network and post a pic of the play.
When the runner went into his slide, Wright was blocking the bag before he caught the ball. This keeps the runner from having a path to the base to slide around the tag. Wright was basically right in front of the bag when he caught the ball, cutting off the lane to the bag. If Wright had caught the ball THEN cut off the lane it wouldn’t have been interference.
Ok.. I can listen to that pov of it. To me it looked like the tag got him, then Wright's foot was blocking the bag but the tag was on before the runner got to his foot. If the timing was more like you said then I see more of the Int call.