Clemson football hands out 2017 team awards

by -
Kelly Bryant was a co-MVP for the offense with Mitch Hyatt.
Kelly Bryant was a co-MVP for the offense with Mitch Hyatt.

Clemson, S.C.-- Clemson held its annual football awards banquet at the Poe Indoor Football Facility on Saturday, January 13. Dabo Swinney and his assistant coaches handed out awards in various on the field, academic, community service and strength training areas.

The offensive most valuable players, known as the Tiger Pride Awards were presented to quarterback Kelly Bryant and offensive tackle Mitch Hyatt. Hyatt is just the second offensive lineman to receive an MVP award in the last 30 years. Kalon Davis was also honored in 2014.

On the defensive side the ball, Clelin Ferrell, Ryan Carter and Dorian O’Daniel were honored with Tiger Pride Awards.

The PAW award that is given for outstanding play, academic excellence, community service went to junior tight end Milan Richard.

Former Clemson outside linebacker and 1981 National Champion Mark Richardson was presented with the Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement Award. Richardson is a member of the Clemson Board of Trustees and has many years of success in the business world in Charlotte and as a vice president of the Carolina Panthers.

The evening concluded with the honoring the permanent captain for 2017. Those players were offensive linemen Tyrone Crowder, Mitch Hearn, Maverick Morris, defensive lineman Christian Wilkins, linebacker Dorian O’Daniel and cornerback Ryan Carter.

Clemson Football Season Awards for 2017 Season

Offense Awards

Solid Rock Award (most solid, consistent and dependable player at each position)

Position - Recipient

Running Back - Adam Choice

Wide Receiver - Hunter Renfrow, Ray-Ray McCloud

Tight End - Milan Richard

Offensive Line - Mitch Hyatt

Quarterback - Kelly Bryant

Hustle Award - Maverick Morris and Sean Pollard

12th Man Award - Travis Etienne and Tremayne Anchrum

Iron Man Award - Kelly Bryant and Taylor Hearn

Most Improved - Justin Falcinelli, Tavien Feaster, D.J. Greenlee

Rookie of the Year - Travis Etienne and Tee Higgins

Scout Team POY - Baylor Spector and Kyle Cote

Special Teams POY - Ray-Ray McCloud

Tiger Pride (MVP) - Kelly Bryant and Mitch Hyatt

Special Awards

Future Impact Players - Amari Rodgers, T.J. Chase, John Simpson

PAW Award - Tyrone Crowder, Trevion Thompson

Specialist of the Year - Will Spiers

Most Improved Specialist - Alex Spence

Defensive Awards

Solid Rock Award (most solid, consistent and dependable player at each position

Position Recipient

Defensive Backs - Ryan Carter and Van Smith

Defensive Tackles Christian Wilkins

Defensive Ends - Clelin Ferrell

Linebackers - Kendall Joseph

Hustle Award - Christian Wilkins and Clelin Ferrell

12th Man Award - J.D. Davis and K’Von Wallace

Iron Man Award - Ryan Carter and Christian Wilkins

Most Improved - J.D. Davis, Albert Huggins, Austin Bryant, Trayvon Mullen

Rookie of the Year - A.J. Terrell, Isaiah Simmons

Scout Team POY - Will Brown and Chase Brice

Special Teams POY - Isaiah Simmons and Jamie Skalski

Tiger Pride MVP - Clelin Ferrell, Ryan Carter, Dorian O’Daniel

Special Awards

Future Impact Players - A.J. Terrell, Justin Foster, Isaiah Simmons, Shaq Smith

Dexter Lawrence, Tanner Muse

PAW Award - Milan Richard

Specialist of the Year - Will Spiers

Most Improved Specialist - Alex Spence

Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement - Mark Richardson

Nieri Center Academic Awards

Highest GPA Freshman Darien Rencher

Highest GPA RS Freshman - Will Brown

Highest GPA Sophomore - Carson King

Highest GPA Junior - Alex Spence

Highest GPA Senior - Maverick Morris

Highest GPA Team - Hall Morton

Nieri Center Awards: - K’Von Wallace, John Simpson, Shaq Smith, Taylor Hearn

Strength Training Awards

Strength Training All-Americans - Christian Wilkins, Mitch Hyatt, Clelin Ferrell

Strength Dedication Awards - Garrett Williams, Dorin O’Daniel

All-In Accountability Award - Captain--Christian Wilkins

Team Members— Hunter Johnson, Nolan Turner, Austin Jackson, Cade Stewart, Blake Vinson, Xavier Kelly, Seth Penner, Trevion Thompson, Jordan Williams, Will Brown, James Edwards, Amari Rodgers, Luke Price, Peter Cote

Spiritual Leadership Award - J.D. Davis, Judah Davis

Captains Awards - Taylor Hearn, Tyrone Crowder, Maverick Morris, Christian Wilkins, Ryan Carter, Dorian O’Daniel

Comment on this story
Tags: Clemson Football, Kalon Davis, D.J. Greenlee, Tyrone Crowder, Maverick Morris, Ryan Carter, Trevion Thompson, Taylor Hearn, Milan Richard, Justin Falcinelli, Kendall Joseph, Adam Choice, Judah Davis, J.D. Davis, Alex Spence, Hunter Renfrow, Tanner Muse, Albert Huggins, Garrett Williams, Kelly Bryant, Mitch Hyatt, Austin Bryant, Ray-Ray McCloud, Van Smith, Clelin Ferrell, Christian Wilkins, Kyle Cote, Seth Penner, Dexter Lawrence, Tavien Feaster, TJ Chase, Trayvon Mullen, Sean Pollard, Shaq Smith, James Skalski, John Simpson, Xavier Kelly, Tremayne Anchrum, Isaiah Simmons, Nolan Turner, Cade Stewart, Hall Morton, Will Spiers, Carson King, Austin Jackson, Tee Higgins, Justin Foster, Blake Vinson, Chase Brice, Jordan Williams, Amari Rodgers, Hunter Johnson, AJ Terrell, Travis Etienne, Darien Rencher, Luke Price, Will Brown, James Edwards
Post your comments!

Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest