Clemson Football Awards announced

by -

Clemson, S.C.—The Clemson football program held its annual banquet at the program’s indoor facility on Saturday night, January 9. Head Coach Dabo Swinney and members of his staff presented the awards to team members who helped the Tigers to a 10-3 record in 2014.

The evening included the presentation of the Tiger Pride MVP Awards. The winners for the offense were offensive lineman Kalon Davis and wide receiver Mike Williams. The defensive winners were tackle Grady Jarrett and defensive end Vic Beasley.

Former Tiger Warren Forney, a starting lineman between 1991-95, won the Brian Dawkins Clemson lifetime Achievement Award. Longtime administrator Andy Johnston, who is retiring at the end of the academic year after 40 years at Clemson, was also recognized by Swinney.

The affair concluded with the senior class presenting Swinney with a framed No. 42 jersey, which represents the number of victories the class had over their four years, a school record.

Clemson Football Awards for 2014 season


Solid Rock Awards: RB—Wayne Gallman, WR—Mike Williams, TE—Sam Cooper, OL--Kalon Davis, QB—Cole Stoudt and Deshaun Watson.

12th Man Award: C.J. Davidson, Stanton Seckinger

Hustle Awards: Adam Humphries, Reid Webster

Iron Man: Kalon Davis, Isaiah Battle

Most Improved: Reid Webster

Rookie of the Year: Artavis Scott, Wayne Gallman, Deshaun Watson

Scout Team Player of the Year: Jefferie Gibson, Jabril Robinson

Special Teams: Adam Humphries

Tiger Pride MVP: Kalon Davis and Mike Williams


Solid Rock Awards: DB—Robert Smith, DL—Grady Jarrett, DE—Corey Crawford and Vic Beasley, LB—Stephone Anthony

Hustle Award: DeShawn Williams and Tony Steward

12th Man: Shaq Lawson, Ben Boulware

Iron Man: Stephone Anthony, Robert Smith

Most Improved: Tony Steward, Garry Peters, Tavaris Barnes

Rookie of the Year: Mackensie Alexander

Scout Team: Hunter Renfrow, Zach Riggs

Special Teams: Ben Boulware, Cordrea Tankersley

Tiger Pride MVP: Grady Jarrett and Vic Beasley

Special Awards

Special Teams Player of the Year: Mike Sobeski, Bradley Pinion

PAW Award of the Year: David Beasley and Josh Watson

Future Impact Player: Deshaun Watson, Tyshon Dye, Kevin Dodd, Dorian O’Daniel

Brian Dawkins Clemson Lifetime Achievement Award: Warren Forney, Clemson ‘95

Academic Awards

Highest GPA: Freshman, Justin Miller; Sophomore, Quinton Hall; Junior, Beau Brown; Senior, Corbin Jenkins; Overall, David Estes

Vickery Hall Awards: T.J. Burrell, Tyson Dye, Kevin Dodd, Maverick Morris

Spiritual Leadership Award: Bradley Pinion

P.A.T. Leadership Award: Grady Jarrett

Weight Room Awards

Strength All-American: Grady Jarrett

Dedication Award: Stephone Anthony, Sam Cooper

Team Permanent Captains

Grady Jarrett, Stephone Anthony, Adam Humphries, Sam Cooper

Comment on this story
Steve Spurrier reacts to Nick Saban-Jimbo Fisher feud
Steve Spurrier reacts to Nick Saban-Jimbo Fisher feud
Travis Etienne playing update
Travis Etienne playing update
Baseball America projection has Tigers out of NCAAs field
Baseball America projection has Tigers out of NCAAs field
'WRU' Clemson well-represented in 2022 NFL wide receiver rankings
'WRU' Clemson well-represented in 2022 NFL wide receiver rankings
Post your comments!

Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest