Clemson Banquet Award winners

by -
Clemson Banquet Award winners

Clemson, S.C.—Clemson’s National Championship Football program held its season-ending banquet on Saturday night at the Betty Sheppard Poe and William Maxwell Poe Indoor Football Facility.

Awards were presented in a number of categories ranging from on field excellence to academics and strength training.

The Tiger Pride Awards (MVP) were presented to Deshaun Watson and Mike Williams on the offensive side of the ball, and Carlos Watkins, Ben Boulware and Jadar Johnson on the defensive side.

A highlight of the evening was the presentation of the Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement Award to Jeff Davis. Davis is now an assistant athletic director in the Clemson football program. He was the captain of the 1981 Clemson team that won the school’s first national championship.

The festive celebration concluded with remarks from the six permanent captains of the 2016 team, Deshaun Watson, Jay Guillermo, Jordan Leggett, Carlos Watkins, Ben Boulware and Jadar Johnson.

Offense Awards Solid Rock Award (most solid, consistent and dependable player at each position)

Running Back: Wayne Gallman

Wide Receiver: Mike Williams and Artavis Scott

Tight End: Jordan Leggett

Offensive Line: Jay Guillermo

Quarterback: Deshaun Watson

Hustle Award: Mitch Hyatt and Hunter Renfrow

12th Man Award: Deon Cain and Maverick Morris

Iron Man Award: Jordan Leggett and Jay Guillermo

Most Improved: Tyrone Crowder, C.J. Fuller, Nick Schuessler

Rookie of the Year: Sean Pollard and Tremayne Anchrum

Scout Team POY: Nyles Pinckney and Regan Upshaw

Special Teams POY: Artavis Scott

Tiger Pride (MVP): Deshaun Watson and Mike Williams

Defensive Awards

Defensive Backs: Cordrea Tankersely and Jadar Johnson

Defensive Tackles: Carlos Watkins

Defensive Ends: Christian Wilkins

Linebackers: Ben Boulware

Hustle Award: Jadar Johnson

12th Man Award: Scott Pagano, Austin Bryant and Marcus Edmond

Iron Man Award: Ryan Carter

Most Improved: Kendall Joseph

Rookie of the Year: Dexter Lawrence and Clelin Ferrell

Scout Team POY: Pat Godfrey and Darien Rencher

Special Teams POY: Tanner Muse and Chad Smith

Tiger Pride MVP: Carlos Watkins, Ben Boulware and Jadar Johnson

Special Awards Specialist of the Year: Greg Huegel and Andy Teasdall

P.A.W Award of the Year: Taylor Hearn, Hunter Renfrow and Van Smith

Future Impact Players: Tavien Feaster and John Simpson Tanner Muse and Tre Lamar

Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement: Jeff Davis

Academic Awards

Highest GPA Freshman: Carson King

Highest GPA Sophomore: Judah Davis

Highest GPA Junior: Maverick Morris

Highest GPA Senior: David Estes

Highest GPA Team Alex Spence

Vickery Hall Awards: Trevion Thompson, Artavis Scott, Tucker Israel, Chad Smith

Spiritual Leadership Award: Hunter Renfrow

P.A.T. Award: Deshaun Watson

Strength Training All-Americans: Wayne Gallman, Deshaun Watson, Ben Boulware, Jay Guillermo

Strength Dedication Awards: Ben Boulware, Wayne Gallman, Jay Guillermo

All-In Accountability Award Captains: (Ben Boulware and Jadar Johnson) Team Members (Michael Batson, Zach Giella,

Noah Green, Xavier Kelly, Carson King, Hall Morton, Grant Radakovich, Seth Ryan, Cam Scott, Van Smith, Cade Stewart, Richard Yeargin)

Captains Awards: Deshaun Watson, Jay Guillermo, Jordan Leggett, `Carlos Watkins, Ben Boulware, Jadar Johnson

Comment on this story
Post your comments!

Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest