Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
Two Football Plays I'll Never Forget
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 8
| visibility 1

Two Football Plays I'll Never Forget

Apr 15, 2021, 3:11 PM

I was a student at the University of Florida during the 1940 summer session and the 1940-41 school year. During the 1940 summer session, the University Buildings Division was doing some extensive renovations to one of the dorms. Most of the football players were employed on the project as well as myself and several of my friends. We were paid 25 cents per hour. I got to know many of the players personally and we had lots of fun

John Piombo was a lineman. The Gators were playing Georgia Tech and Tech was using a full backfield and were known for the QB lateralling to the other backs. On this particular play, John had rushed into the Tech backfield between the QB and the RB. The QB's lateral was picked off by John and he raced down the field about 60 yards for a TD With no Tech player within 25 yards of him.

In another game, Pat Reem was a Gator RB. Pat was not a big guy but he was as fast as greased lightening. He took the handoff from the Gator QB, found a wide hole in the line and raced down the field. As he approached the opponent's 20 yard line he looked back to see no one was within 20 yards of him and what did he do? He tripped over his own feet and went tumbling to the ground.

badge-ringofhonor-joe21.jpgmilitary_donation.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

No offense, but how old are you?

Apr 15, 2021, 3:37 PM