Swinney named to Bryant COY Watch List

by -

HOUSTON (Oct. 26, 2011) – The 2012 Marathon Oil Corporation Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards committee of the American Heart Association selected its Watch List for the 2011 Bryant Coach of the Year.

In December, a finalists’ list will be announced and comprised of five to ten coaches. Finalists will attend an awards dinner on Jan. 19, 2012 in Houston, Texas at the HYATT Regency Hotel Downtown, where the winner will be announced live. The Bryant Coach of the Year Award is the only college coaching honor voted on after all of the bowl games are concluded.

January’s event will also recognize former University of Iowa Head Football Coach Hayden Fry, who will receive the Bryant Lifetime Achievement Award. The award recognizes excellence in coaching on and off the field during a career, allowing recipients to take their place in history alongside legends such as Paul “Bear” Bryant. Recent Lifetime Achievement recipients include Barry Switzer, Glenn “Bo” Schembechler, and Bobby Bowden.

Bryant Coach of the Year Watch List (alphabetical order):

• Frank Beamer – Virginia Tech University
• Bret Bielema – University of Wisconsin
• Mark Dantonio – Michigan State University
• Mike Gundy – Oklahoma State University
• Brady Hoke – University of Michigan
• Mark Hudspeth – University of Louisiana
• Chip Kelly – University of Oregon
• Les Miles – Louisiana State University
• Joe Paterno – Penn State University
• Bo Pelini – University of Nebraska
• Chris Petersen – Boise State University
• Bobby Petrino – University of Arkansas
• Nick Saban – University of Alabama
• David Shaw – Stanford University
• Bill Snyder – Kansas State University
• Steve Spurrier – University of South Carolina
• Bob Stoops – University of Oklahoma
• Kevin Sumlin – University of Houston
Dabo SwinneyDabo Swinney
Head Coach
View Full Profile
– Clemson University
• Tommy Tuberville – Texas Tech University

The Bryant Awards honor excellence in coaching while raising funds to fight heart disease and stroke, the nation’s No. 1 and No. 3 killers. Bryant himself suffered a heart attack prior to his death in 1983. Funds raised benefit research, community education and outreach programs of the AHA. For more information, or to purchase tickets or a table for the event, contact Kristin Rodriguez at 713-610-5026 or visit www.bryantawards.com

Send Feedback to TigerNet Staff: Email | Comment
Post your comments!

After Potter's big week, Tigers now have three commits rated best at their position

Swinney compares Watson to Joe Montana and Tom Brady

WATCH: Swinney's impersonation of ESPN's Stephen A. Smith

Clemson's Top Tight Ends and Offensive Linemen

WATCH: Swinney celebrates a catch at ESPN

Robbie Caldwell on the OL: "We've got a chance to be pretty good"

WATCH: Deon Cain beats Tavien Feaster in a foot race

Mike Williams denies season-ending surgery report

Your new favorite player? It might just be Darnell Jefferies
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest