Watson, Leggett among 24 finalists for The Home Depot CFB Awards

by -

The Home Depot College Football Awards will air on ESPN, Thursday, Dec. 8, at 7 p.m. ET. The show highlights the achievements of college football student-athletes in 2016. Twenty-four players were selected as finalists for the nine National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) awards given annually during the show. The nominees will be featured during The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special on Tuesday, Nov. 22 at 3 p.m. on ESPNU.


NCFAA awards announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards:

Chuck Bednarik Award
College Defensive Player of the Year

Jonathan Allen, Alabama (Sr.)
Myles Garrett, Texas A&M (So.)
Jabrill Peppers, Michigan (Jr.)
Biletnikoff Award
Outstanding Receiver

Austin Carr, Northwestern (Jr.)
Zay Jones, East Carolina (Sr.)
Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma (RS Sr.)
Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award
Nation’s Outstanding Placekicker

Daniel Carlson, Auburn (Jr.)
Zane Gonzalez, Arizona State (Sr.)
Younghoe Koo, Georgia Southern (Sr.)
Ray Guy Award
College Punter of the Year

Michael Dickson, Texas (So.)
Cameron Johnston, Ohio State, (GS)
Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah, (So.)
Maxwell Award
College Player of the Year

Lamar Jackson, Louisville (So.)
Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (RS Jr.)
Jabrill Peppers, Michigan (Jr.)
Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award
Nation’s Best Quarterback

Lamar Jackson, Louisville (So.)
Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (RS Jr.)
Deshaun Watson, Clemson (Jr.)*
Outland Trophy
Nation’s Most Outstanding
Interior Lineman
Pat Elflein, Ohio State (Sr.)
Cody O'Connell, Washington State (RS Jr.)
Cam Robinson, Alabama
Jim Thorpe Award
Nation’s Best
Defensive Back
Adoree’ Jackson, USC (Jr.)
Jourdan Lewis, Michigan (Sr.)
Tre’Davious White, LSU (Sr.)
Doak Walker Award
Nation’s Premier
Running Back
Dalvin Cook, Florida State (Jr.)
D’Onta Foreman, Texas (Jr.)
Donnel Pumphrey, San Diego State (Sr.)
*2015 award winner

Other awards recognized during The Home Depot College Football Awards:

The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award

Winner be announced
on Wednesday, Dec. 8

NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award Winner to be announced on
Wednesday, Nov. 30

Disney Spirit Award
Most Inspirational

James Conner, Pittsburgh (RS Jr.)
William V. Campbell Trophy
Academic Success
The 12 finalists for the Campbell Trophy were announced on Tuesday, Nov. 1.

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Team captain will be announced
on Wednesday, Nov. 23

Walter Camp All-America Team Team to be announced
on Thursday, Dec. 8

Awards recognized during The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Special at 6 p.m. on ESPNU:

John Mackey Award
Outstanding Tight End

Jake Butt, Michigan (Sr.)
O.J. Howard, Alabama (Sr.)
Jordan Leggett, Clemson (Sr.)
Rimington Award
Outstanding Center

Finalists to be announced on
Monday, Dec. 5; Winner announced live
on the Red Carpet
Wuerffel Trophy
Community Service

Garrett Adcock, New Mexico (RS Sr.)
Trevor Knight, Texas A&M (Sr.)
Christian McCaffrey, Stanford (Jr.)

Post your comments!

Photos: Clemson vs. Boston College

Swinney recaps "weird" day against BC, previews Virginia Tech

Swinney updates several injuries on team

Vegas odds on Clemson-Virginia Tech

Twitter reacts to Deshaun Watson's performance vs. Patriots

WATCH: Deshaun Watson has video game moves

WATCH: Watson throws a laser for another TD against Patriots

Alabama builds lead on Clemson in AP poll

WATCH: Deshaun Watson throws 29-yard TD pass to Bruce Ellington
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest