Noonan named National Coach of the Year

by -
Noonan's team made it to the NCAA championship game

CLEMSON, S.C. – Men’s soccer head coach Mike Noonan was named the 2015 National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) National Coach of the Year. Noonan’s Tigers advanced to the College Cup Final and finished the season 17-3-4 on the season, and it marked the Tigers first College Cup Final in 28 seasons.

The NSCAA honorees will be presented their award Friday, Jan. 15, at the annual NSCAA Awards Banquet, held in conjunction with the NSCAA Convention in Baltimore.

Noonan coached a total of seven players to All-ACC recognition in 2015, including ACC Midfielder of the Year Paul Clowes and ACC Defensive Player of the Year Kyle Fisher. T.J. Casner and Andrew Tarbell also earned First Team All-ACC honors, while Iman Mafi and Oliver Shannon were named to the all-conference third team and Patrick Bunk-Andersen was on the ACC All-Freshman Team.

Clowes, Fisher and Tarbell were named to the College Cup All-Tournament team, as selected by members of the media, at the conclusion of the NCAA tournament.

Since his first season with the Tigers in 2010, Noonan has helped put the program back on the national scene, going from eight wins or less in 2010, 2011 and 2012, to 11 wins in 2013, 12 in 2014 and 17 this season. In addition, the team has earned an NCAA Tournament berth each of the last three seasons, reaching the first round in 2013, the Sweet 16 in 2014 and national finals this season.

Post your comments!

Photos: Clemson vs. Boston College

Swinney recaps "weird" day against BC, previews Virginia Tech

Swinney updates several injuries on team

Vegas odds on Clemson-Virginia Tech

Twitter reacts to Deshaun Watson's performance vs. Patriots

WATCH: Deshaun Watson has video game moves

WATCH: Watson throws a laser for another TD against Patriots

Alabama builds lead on Clemson in AP poll

WATCH: Deshaun Watson throws 29-yard TD pass to Bruce Ellington
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest