Lawson named to Hendricks Award Midseason Watch List

by -

CLEMSON, S.C. — Junior defensive end Shaq Lawson has been named to the Ted Hendricks Award Midseason Watch List. The Hendricks Award is presented each year to the top defensive end in college football, and is named after former University of Miami (Fla.) and NFL player Ted Hendicks.

Lawson leads Clemson in tackles for loss and sacks this year. He has 13.5 tackles for loss, including at least one in every game, and has 5.5 sacks. He is second in the ACC in tackles for loss and sacks. He leads the ACC in sacks in conference games (4.5).

The former Daniel High School player has 44 total tackles, fifth on a unit that is fourth in the nation in total defense. Lawson has 33 first hits and 11 assists and is third on the team with nine quarterback pressures. He had 3.5 tackles for loss in the first quarter of Clemson’s win over Notre Dame, and had a pair of sacks in the win at Miami (Fla.) last weekend.

Clemson has a strong heritage when it comes to the Hendricks Award. Da’Quan Bowers won the honor in 2010, while Gaines Adams (2006), Andre Branch (2011), and Vic Beasley (2013 and 2014) have all been finalists. The four to six finalists will be announced in late November, and the winner will be announced December 9.

Post your comments!

Steve Spurrier says Clemson should be ranked No. 1 ahead of Alabama

Clemson DE out for the season

Herbstreit: 'Frightening' defense has Clemson as Playoff favorite

Rudolph out for the season, Swinney looks for freshmen to step up

Clemson offers 2018 Auburn WR commit

WATCH: Swinney talks injuries, more after Wednesday practice

Venables says Saturday sets up to be a bloody nose kind of day

Photos: Clemson vs. Louisville - 2

Clemson ranked No. 1 in's 2017 performances
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest