Dawkins snubbed in 2017 Hall of Fame vote

by - Assoc. Editor -
Dawkins at the Dabo Swinney Football Camp

Former Clemson and NFL standout Brian Dawkins did not get into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday night.
The 2017 Hall of Fame Class was announced and the following players made it in with LaDainian Tomlinson, Jason Taylor, Terrell Davis, Morten Andersen, and Kurt Warner.

This was the first year that Dawkins was eligible for the Hall of Fame as he made it as a finalist (final 10).

"I'm disappointed,'' Dawkins said via Philly.com. "That's how I feel right now. I'll be fine, though. I'm upset now, but I'll be fine. It's extremely disappointing, I'm not going to lie about that. Extremely [disappointing]. But this is something that will pass and I'll get back to my normal routine and what I was doing before this."

Dawkins had 34 interceptions, 16 fumble recoveries, 36 forced fumbles and 26 sacks in 13 outstanding years with the Philadelphia Eagles. He is one of six players in NFL history with 25 sacks and 25 interceptions.

In 2018, Brian Urlacher, Randy Moss, Steven Hutchinson, and Ray Lewis will be added to the eligible players that will be voted on next year for the Hall of Fame.

Send Feedback to Tony Crumpton: Email | Comment
Post your comments!

Latest Bowl Projections for Clemson

Clemson depth chart vs. Virginia Tech

WATCH: Deshaun Watson highlights vs. Patriots

Inside Boston College: Etienne's name explained, Hokies haven't been tested

Photos: Clemson vs. Boston College

Swinney recaps "weird" day against BC, previews Virginia Tech

Swinney updates several injuries on team

Vegas odds on Clemson-Virginia Tech

Twitter reacts to Deshaun Watson's performance vs. Patriots
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest