Clemson announces permanent captains for 2016

by -

Clemson, S.C.—Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney has announced six permanent captains for the 2016 football season and they will serve as the captains for the Tigers in the upcoming College Football Playoff. There are three captains from the offense and three from the defense.

The captains from the offense include quarterback Deshaun Watson, center Jay Guillermo and tight end Jordan Leggett. The captains from the defense are tackle Carlos Watkins, linebacker Ben Boulware and strong safety Jadar Johnson.

Watson is the first two-time Heisman finalist from an ACC institution, Guillermo is a two-time All-ACC selection and Leggett is a two-time Mackey Award finalist. Watkins was named a first-team All-ACC player each of the last two years and was a first-team All-American in 2016 according to CBS Sports and a second-team selection by the Associated Press. Boulware was the ACC Co-Defensive Player of the Year and second team All-American by seven services. Johnson went from reserve in 2015 to first-team All-ACC in 2016.

All six of these players have been significant reasons Clemson has won the ACC championship each of the last two years, ranked in the top five in the nation in each of the last 23 AP polls, and reached the College Football Playoff each of the last two years.

Post your comments!

WATCH: TNT Highlight video "Powerful Beyond Measure"

Will the Tigers get blitz-happy against Tech's freshman QB?

Wilkins: Clemson's on to the next 'biggest game'

WATCH: The Big Cat Dexter Lawrence

WATCH: Ferrell ready to face home-state team

Renfrow: "We just got to go finish drives"

Feaster on Etienne: "He amazes me"

O'Daniel: "Be ready to play four quarters"

WATCH: Venables says Tigers need to "play much better" v. VT
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest