Clemson Banquet Award winners

by -

Clemson, S.C.—Clemson’s National Championship Football program held its season-ending banquet on Saturday night at the Betty Sheppard Poe and William Maxwell Poe Indoor Football Facility.

Awards were presented in a number of categories ranging from on field excellence to academics and strength training.

The Tiger Pride Awards (MVP) were presented to Deshaun Watson and Mike Williams on the offensive side of the ball, and Carlos Watkins, Ben Boulware and Jadar Johnson on the defensive side.

A highlight of the evening was the presentation of the Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement Award to Jeff Davis. Davis is now an assistant athletic director in the Clemson football program. He was the captain of the 1981 Clemson team that won the school’s first national championship.

The festive celebration concluded with remarks from the six permanent captains of the 2016 team, Deshaun Watson, Jay Guillermo, Jordan Leggett, Carlos Watkins, Ben Boulware and Jadar Johnson.

Offense Awards Solid Rock Award (most solid, consistent and dependable player at each position)

Running Back: Wayne Gallman
Wide Receiver: Mike Williams and Artavis Scott
Tight End: Jordan Leggett
Offensive Line: Jay Guillermo
Quarterback: Deshaun Watson

Hustle Award: Mitch Hyatt and Hunter Renfrow
12th Man Award: Deon Cain and Maverick Morris
Iron Man Award: Jordan Leggett and Jay Guillermo
Most Improved: Tyrone Crowder, C.J. Fuller, Nick Schuessler
Rookie of the Year: Sean Pollard and Tremayne Anchrum
Scout Team POY: Nyles Pinckney and Regan Upshaw
Special Teams POY: Artavis Scott
Tiger Pride (MVP): Deshaun Watson and Mike Williams

Defensive Awards

Defensive Backs: Cordrea Tankersely and Jadar Johnson
Defensive Tackles: Carlos Watkins
Defensive Ends: Christian Wilkins
Linebackers: Ben Boulware

Hustle Award: Jadar Johnson
12th Man Award: Scott Pagano, Austin Bryant and Marcus Edmond
Iron Man Award: Ryan Carter
Most Improved: Kendall Joseph
Rookie of the Year: Dexter Lawrence and Clelin Ferrell
Scout Team POY: Pat Godfrey and Darien Rencher
Special Teams POY: Tanner Muse and Chad Smith
Tiger Pride MVP: Carlos Watkins, Ben Boulware and Jadar Johnson
Special Awards Specialist of the Year: Greg Huegel and Andy Teasdall
P.A.W Award of the Year: Taylor Hearn, Hunter Renfrow and Van Smith
Future Impact Players: Tavien Feaster and John Simpson Tanner Muse and Tre Lamar
Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement: Jeff Davis

Academic Awards
Highest GPA Freshman: Carson King
Highest GPA Sophomore: Judah Davis
Highest GPA Junior: Maverick Morris
Highest GPA Senior: David Estes
Highest GPA Team Alex Spence
Vickery Hall Awards: Trevion Thompson, Artavis Scott, Tucker Israel, Chad Smith

Spiritual Leadership Award: Hunter Renfrow
P.A.T. Award: Deshaun Watson
Strength Training All-Americans: Wayne Gallman, Deshaun Watson, Ben Boulware, Jay Guillermo
Strength Dedication Awards: Ben Boulware, Wayne Gallman, Jay Guillermo
All-In Accountability Award Captains: (Ben Boulware and Jadar Johnson) Team Members (Michael Batson, Zach Giella,
Noah Green, Xavier Kelly, Carson King, Hall Morton, Grant Radakovich, Seth Ryan, Cam Scott, Van Smith, Cade Stewart, Richard Yeargin)
Captains Awards: Deshaun Watson, Jay Guillermo, Jordan Leggett, `Carlos Watkins, Ben Boulware, Jadar Johnson

Post your comments!

Former Clemson LB traded to Dolphins

ESPN analyst: Bryant 'will be better' than Watson

Dates set for 2018 Clemson-SC, Clemson-TAMU

Former Clemson WR signs with Roughriders

Don't want to get smacked by Wilkins? Don't score. Or play rock-paper-scissors

WATCH: Clemson is a complete football team

Wilkins: 'Don't score if you don't want to get me too excited'

WATCH: O'Daniel on his transition into playmaker role

WATCH: Hyatt seeing good things from O-line
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest