Swinney on watch list for Bryant Award

by -
Player Photo
Position: Head Coach

Clemson, S.C.—Clemson Head Coach Dabo Swinney has been named to the Watch List for the 2015 American Heart Association Bear Bryant Award presented by Marathon Oil Corporation. In December 5-10 finalists will be announced and the winner will be announced Jan. 13, 2016 in Houston, Tex.

Swinney has led Clemson to a 6-0 start and a No. ranking by the Associated Press and USA Today Coaches poll. The Tigers are the only team in the top 12 of the AP poll to defeat another top 12 team (Notre Dame). The Tigers have won nine in a row over two years and 15 of the last 16. This is the first time Clemson has gone 15-1 in a 16-game timespan since 1947-49.

Swinney was named a finalist for the Bear Bryant Award in 2013. The award is the only National Coach of the Year that takes postseason bowl game and playoff competition into consideration.

Swinney is one of 22 coaches on the Bryant Watch List. The others include Art Briles of Baylor, Matt Campbell of Toledo, David Cutcliffe of Duke, Mark Dantonio of Michigan State, Kirk Ferentz of Iowa, Jimbo Fisher of Florida State, Justin Fuente of Memphis and Mike Gundy of Oklahoma State.

Also on the list are Jim Harbaugh of Michigan, Tom Herman of Houston, Brian Kelly of Notre Dame, Jim McElwain of Florida, Urban Meyer of Ohio State, Les Miles of LSU, Pat Narduzzi of Pittsburgh, Gary Patterson of TCU, Matt Rhule of Tempe, Nick Saban of Alabama, David Shaw of Stanford, Kevin Sumlin of Texas A&M and Kyle Whittingham of Utah.

Post your comments!

College GameDay set for Clemson-Virginia Tech

BC head coach on team's 34-7 loss to Clemson

Ferrell: Fan response to struggles 'comes with the territory'

Etienne on scoring touchdowns: "That's my mindset"

Swinney updates several injuries on team

Swinney: "We took it over in the trenches"

Etienne wins Leather Helmet award

Swinney to ESPN: 'They're just kicking our butt'

A win, yes, but sloppy play can’t be overlooked
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest