Swinney named to Midseason Watch List

by -

ATLANTA – Officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl today released the mid-season watch list for the 2016 Dodd Trophy. The list includes 18 of the nation’s top college football coaches representing all Power 5 conferences, the American Athletic Conference, Mid-American Conference and Mountain West Conference.

The head coaches on the watch list represent programs with the highest ideals of leadership, scholarship and integrity on and off the field – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s philosophy. Each of the coaches sits at the helm of programs with winning records, superior Academic Progress Rate (APR) scores and graduation rates, as well as a strong commitment to service within their communities.

“We are at the midpoint of the college football season and in our opinion, these 18 head coaches have separated themselves from the rest of the pack,” said Jim Terry, Chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “Whether it is their current on-field success, high academic standing or community involvement, these are the coaches who have best represented what the Dodd Trophy is all about.”

The 2016 Dodd Trophy Mid-Season Watch List:
Coach School Conference Current AP Ranking Past Winner
Paul Chryst Wisconsin Big Ten No. 11
Larry Fedora North Carolina ACC No. 21
P.J. Fleck Western Michigan MAC No. 20
Jim Harbaugh Michigan Big Ten No. 2
Bryan Harsin Boise State Mountain West No. 13
Dana Holgorsen West Virginia Big 12 No. 10
Mike MacIntyre Colorado Pac-12 No. 23
Gus Malzahn Auburn SEC No. 15
Jim McElwain Florida SEC No. 14
Urban Meyer Ohio State Big Ten No. 6
Ken Niumatalolo Navy American No. 22
Chris Petersen Washington Pac-12 No. 4 2010 Dodd Trophy
Mike Riley Nebraska Big Ten No. 7
Nick Saban Alabama SEC No. 1 2014 Dodd Trophy
Bob Stoops Oklahoma Big 12 No. 16 2003 Dodd Trophy
Kevin Sumlin Texas A&M SEC No. 9
Dabo Swinney Clemson ACC No. 3 2011 Dodd Trophy
Kyle Whittingham Utah Pac-12 No. 17
“The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl is proud to manage the Dodd Trophy,” said Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Chairman Percy Vaughn. “All of these fine coaches have achieved tremendous success this season and are certainly deserving of this recognition.”

As the season continues, an updated watch list will be released in November.

A voting panel of all previous winners, plus a committee made up of national college football media members, a member of the Dodd family and two College Football Hall of Fame members will determine the 2016 recipient. The winner of The Dodd Trophy will be announced in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl week.

Post your comments!

Clemson kicker suffers season-ending knee injury

WATCH: Watkins scores first Rams TD, adds another in big night

Advanced outlook: Clemson heavy favorites for BC, beyond

Clemson Football uniforms for Boston College

Clemson's depth to be tested after injuries

Bowden: Respect comes with consistency for Clemson

Former Tigers welcome Stephone Anthony to Miami

Pigskin Prophet: Basketball school and bandwagon edition

Sammy Watkins believes the Earth is flat
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest