Swinney named to Bobby Dodd Watch List

by -
Dabo Swinney was the 2011 Dodd Trophy Winner

CLEMSON, S.C. — Dabo Swinney is one of 23 coaches from around the country named to the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation Watch List.

According to the release made by the Bobby Dodd Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, “the head coaches on the watch list represent programs with the highest ideals of leadership, scholarship and integrity on and off the field — the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s philosophy.”

Swinney won the award in 2011 when he led Clemson to its first ACC Championship in 20 years and set a school record for wins over top-25 teams in a season (4). He was Clemson's first Coach of the Year since Danny Ford in 1981.

Other ACC coaches on the 2015 Watch List are Jimbo Fisher of Florida State and Paul Johnson of Georgia Tech. Brian Kelly of Notre Dame and Steve Spurrier of South Carolina are also on the list. All four of those coaches will face Swinney and the Tigers this year. All but Spurrier will face the Tigers in Memorial Stadium.

Swinney has led Clemson to a 61-26 record in seven seasons. That includes a 42-11 mark over the last four years. Clemson has won at least 10 games each of the last four years, and the 42 victories are a school record over a four-year period. Clemson has finished each of the last four years in the top 25 of both polls, including top-15 rankings each of the last three seasons.

The 2015 Dodd Trophy Preseason Watch List:

Art Briles Baylor Big 12
Mark Dantonio Michigan State Big Ten
Jimbo Fisher Florida State ACC
Hugh Freeze Ole Miss SEC
Bryan Harsin Boise State Mountain West
Mark Helfrich Oregon Pac-12
Paul Johnson Georgia Tech ACC 2004 Dodd Trophy Winner
Brian Kelly Notre Dame Independent
Gus Malzahn Auburn SEC
Urban Meyer Ohio State Big Ten
Jim Mora UCLA Pac-12
Dan Mullen Mississippi State SEC
Gary Patterson TCU Big 12 2009 Dodd Trophy Winner
Gary Pinkel Missouri SEC
Mark Richt Georgia SEC
Rich Rodriguez Arizona Pac-12
Nick Saban Alabama SEC 2014 Dodd Trophy Winner
Bill Snyder Kansas State Big 12 1998, 2012 Dodd Trophy Winner
Steve Spurrier South Carolina SEC
Bob Stoops Oklahoma Big 12 2003 Dodd Trophy Winner
Kevin Sumlin Texas A&M SEC
Dabo Swinney Clemson ACC 2011 Dodd Trophy Winner
Kyle Whittingham Utah Pac-12

Additional watch lists – adding to or narrowing the field – will be released throughout the fall, and the winner of the 2015 Dodd Trophy will be announced in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl week. Starting in September, the Dodd Coach of the Week Award will also be presented weekly to the coach whose program embodies the award’s three pillars of scholarship, leadership and integrity, while also having success on the playing field during the previous week.

Post your comments!

WATCH: Tim Bourret gives tour of Clemson's Football Complex

Episode 5: Behind the Scenes with Clemson Football

Isaiah Simmons: Next Man Up

Analyst says Watson 'magic' gives Texans shot at Patriots

Clemson vs. Boston College Prediction

Alabama OT commit: "I love Clemson"

Friday Email Bag

Clemson releases recap video on win over Louisville

WATCH: Clemson still 'most complete team' after losing kicker
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest