Swinney named to 2015 Dodd Trophy Midseason Watch List

by -

ATLANTA (Oct. 16, 2015) – Officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl today released the mid-season watch list for the 2015 Dodd Trophy. The list includes 20 of the nation’s top college football coaches representing all Power 5 conferences, the Mountain West Conference and Notre Dame.

The head coaches on the watch list represent programs with the highest ideals of leadership, scholarship and integrity on and off the field – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s philosophy. Each of the coaches sits at the helm of programs with winning records, superior Academic Progress Rate (APR) scores and graduation rates, and a strong commitment to service within their communities.

“We are almost at the midpoint of the college football season and these 20 head coaches have separated themselves from the rest of the pack,” said Jim Terry, Chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “Whether it is their current on-field success, high academic standing or community involvement, these are the coaches who have best represented what the Dodd Trophy is all about.”

The 2015 Dodd Trophy Midseason Watch List:
Coach School AP Ranking
Art Briles Baylor (Big 12) No. 2
David Cutcliffe Duke (ACC) No. 25 2013 Dodd Trophy Winner
Mark Dantonio Michigan State (Big Ten) No. 7
Sonny Dykes California (Pac-12) No. 23
Kirk Ferentz Iowa (Big Ten) No. 17
Pat Fitzgerald Northwestern (Big Ten) No. 20
Hugh Freeze Ole Miss (SEC) No. 13
Mike Gundy Oklahoma State (Big 12) No. 16
Bryan Harsin Boise State (Mountain West) No. 21
Brian Kelly Notre Dame (Independent) No. 14
Urban Meyer Ohio State (Big Ten) No. 1
Les Miles LSU (SEC) No. 6
Jim Mora UCLA (Pac-12) No. 18
Gary Patterson TCU (Big 12) No. 3 2009 Dodd Trophy Winner
Nick Saban Alabama (SEC) No. 10 2014 Dodd Trophy Winner
David Shaw Stanford (Pac-12) No. 15
Bob Stoops Oklahoma (Big 12) No. 19 2003 Dodd Trophy Winner
Kevin Sumlin Texas A&M (SEC) No. 9
Dabo SwinneyDabo Swinney
Head Coach
View Full Profile
Clemson (ACC) No. 5 2011 Dodd Trophy Winner
Kyle Whittingham Utah (Pac-12) No. 4
As the season continues, an updated watch list will be released in November.

A voting panel of all previous winners, plus a committee made up of national media pundits, a member of the Dodd family and two College Football Hall of Fame members will determine the 2015 recipient. The winner of The Dodd Trophy will be announced in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl week.

Post your comments!

Photos: Clemson vs. Boston College

Swinney recaps "weird" day against BC, previews Virginia Tech

Swinney updates several injuries on team

Vegas odds on Clemson-Virginia Tech

Twitter reacts to Deshaun Watson's performance vs. Patriots

WATCH: Deshaun Watson has video game moves

WATCH: Watson throws a laser for another TD against Patriots

Alabama builds lead on Clemson in AP poll

WATCH: Deshaun Watson throws 29-yard TD pass to Bruce Ellington
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest