Swinney named finalist for Coach of the Year

by -
Player Photo
Position: Head Coach

ATLANTA (December 15, 2014) – Officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl have announced the finalists for the 2014 Dodd Trophy. Finalists include 12 of the nation’s top coaches in college football.

The Dodd Trophy is the preeminent Coach of the Year award and recognizes the head coach of a team that emphasizes the highest ideals of scholarship, leadership and integrity on and off the field – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s coaching philosophy. Coach Dodd is one of only three people that have been selected to the National College Football Hall of Fame both as a coach and as a player.

Each of the finalists led programs that enjoyed a successful football season while also stressing importance of academic excellence and character. The Dodd Trophy celebrates the total football program which includes winning records, the nation’s top APR scores and graduation rates, and a strong commitment to community service.

2014 Dodd Trophy Finalists:
Art Briles Baylor Big 12
Jimbo Fisher Florida State ACC
Hugh Freeze Ole Miss SEC
Bryan Harsin Boise State Mountain West
Urban Meyer Ohio State Big Ten
Jim Mora UCLA Pac 12
Dan Mullen Mississippi State SEC
Gary Patterson TCU Big 12 2009 Winner
Gary Pinkel Missouri SEC
Mark Richt Georgia SEC
Nick Saban Alabama SEC
Dabo SwinneyDabo Swinney
Head Coach
View Full Profile
Clemson ACC 2011 Winner

The winner of the 2014 Dodd Trophy will be announced in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl week.

Dabo Swinney

Post your comments!

Swinney's Monday injury update

Clemson safety moved to cornerback

Virginia Tech DB out for the season

Gametime announced for Clemson-Wake Forest

3-star SF commits to Clemson

Hokies coach on facing Clemson: "It’s like defusing a bomb"

Scott: Feaster and Etienne are above the rest

Photos: Clemson vs. Boston College - 2

Muse: "I love what I see from this defense"
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest