Swinney earns another Coach of the Year honor

by -
Player Photo
Position: Head Coach

Clemson, S.C.—Clemson Head Coach Dabo Swinney was named a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Award and the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year award on Monday. He was also named the Regional Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association.

The Eddie Robinson Award is presented in conjunction with the Allstate Sugar Bowl and is selected by the Football Writers Association of America and goes to the National Coach of the Year. The other finalists are Mark Dantonio of Michigan State, Kirk Ferentz of Iowa, Tom Herman of Houston, Brian Kelly of Notre Dame, Matt Rhule of Temple, David Shaw of Stanford, and Bob Stoops of Oklahoma.

The George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year is presented by the Maxwell Football Club and is also a national coach of the year award. Swinney is a finalist along with Mark Dantonio of Michigan State and Kirk Ferentz of Iowa.

Swinney has led Clemson to a perfect 13-0 season and No. 1 ranking in the College Football Playoff poll, the AP poll and the USA Today Poll. Clemson will face fourth-ranked Oklahoma in the Capital One Orange Bowl in the semifinals of the College Football Playoff on December 31.

The 13-0 Tigers are the only undefeated team among the 128 FBS teams. Clemson won the ACC Championship last Saturday with a 45-37 win over North Carolina. Clemson has won 16 games in a row dating to last year, already a school record.

Post your comments!

Former Clemson LB traded to Dolphins

Don't want to get smacked by Wilkins? Don't score. Or play rock-paper-scissors

ESPN analyst: Bryant 'will be better' than Watson

WATCH: Clemson is a complete football team

Dates set for 2018 Clemson-SC, Clemson-TAMU

Former Clemson WR signs with Roughriders

Wilkins: 'Don't score if you don't want to get me too excited'

WATCH: O'Daniel on his transition into playmaker role

WATCH: Hyatt seeing good things from O-line
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest