Swinney, Fuller tied for 4th after day one of Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge

by - 2014-04-28 22:45:38.0

Photo/Video courtesy of Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge

Greensboro, Ga. (April 28, 2014) – The Georgia Tech team of Paul Johnson and Jon Barry finished the day with four back-to-back birdies and an eagle on their final hole to capture the lead in day one of the 2014 Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge.

Tech's seven-under-par round was two better than the Hugh Freeze and Sean Tuohy duo of Ole Miss, and just good enough to earn the first-place ranking in the field for day one of play.

Barry sank an 18-foot putt on the final hole to secure their two-shot lead over Ole Miss at five under par, and the N.C. State duo of Dave Doeren and Terry Harvey at four under par.

Play was moved up by a day due to anticipated severe weather on Tuesday. Teams are expected to play the second nine holes tomorrow, along with a Skills Challenge, pending weather conditions. Final results will be posted on Tuesday.

Current standings include:

1 Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson / Jon Barry) -7
2 Ole Miss (Hugh Freeze / Sean Tuohy) -5
3 N.C. State (Dave Doeren / Terry Harvey) -4
4 (T) Mississippi State (Dan Mullen / Fred McCrary) -3
4 (T) Cincinnati (Tommy Tuberville / JK Schaffer) -3
4 (T) Arizona (Rich Rodriguez / Jack Wagner) -3
4 (T) Clemson (Dabo SwinneyDabo Swinney
Head Coach
View Full Profile
/ Steve Fuller) -3
8 (T) Auburn (Gus Malzahn / Bo Jackson) -2
8 (T) Virginia Tech (Frank Beamer / Brad Clontz) -2
10 North Carolina (Larry Fedora / Roy Williams) E

The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge is the country’s premier head coach and celebrity charity golf event featuring NCAA head coaches and former athletes and celebrities from the same school competing against their rivals for a share of a $520,000 scholarship purse. On Tuesday the field will compete for the $125,000 first place prize, with all teams receiving a portion of the total scholarship purse.

Past Champions:

Year Team Score Margin
2013 Miami (Al Golden / Gino Torretta) -11 1 stroke
2012 Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson / Jon Barry) -10 1 stroke
2011 Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson / Jon Barry) -11 3 strokes
2010 Florida State (Jimbo Fisher / Terrell Buckley) -7 1 stroke
2009 South Carolina (Steve Spurrier / Sterling Sharpe) -12 1 stroke
2008 South Carolina (Steve Spurrier / Sterling Sharpe) -12 5 strokes
2007 Virginia Tech (Frank Beamer / Dell Curry) -10 1 stroke

Post your comments!

Watson's performance was Heisman-worthy

Tigers say they've done enough to make the College Football Playoff

(A)nother (C)lemson (C)hampionship....Tigers survive Hokies to claim crown

Clemson stays in Top 4 of latest AP Poll

National media pick their top four CFB teams

Latest Bowl Projection for Clemson

Tankersley on big int: "One of the greatest moments of my life"

Boulware: "Our team is just battle-tested"

Swinney: "124 days of commitment it took to get here tonight"
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest