Former Clemson coach winner of 2015 Stagg Award

by - Assoc. Editor -

Former Clemson football head coach Ken Hatfield was awarded the 2015 Amos Alonzo Stagg Award on Tuesday.

The award is presented annually to "individual, group or institution whose services have been outstanding in the advancement of the best interests of football."

The purpose of the award is to perpetuate the example and influence of Amos Alonzo Stagg. Stagg had one of the longest head coaching tenure in the history of College Football.

Hatfield coached at Air Force (1979-1983), Arkansas (1984-1989), Clemson (1990-1993) and Rice (1994-2005) and had a 168–140–4 record as a head coach. He had three SWC championships and one ACC championship (1991).

Hatfield coached at Clemson from 1990-1993 where he compiled a 32-13-1 record. He resigned after the 1993 regular season and Tommy West coached Clemson in the Peach Bowl.

Send Feedback to Tony Crumpton: Email | Comment
Post your comments!

Herbstreit: 'Frightening' defense has Clemson as Playoff favorite

Venables says Saturday sets up to be a bloody nose kind of day

Photos: Clemson vs. Louisville - 2

Clemson ranked No. 1 in's 2017 performances

Clemson-Louisville was most-watched prime-time game

Five Questions Answered

Inside the Road Trip: Big game vibe was missing from Louisville

Former Clemson LB traded to Dolphins

Don't want to get smacked by Wilkins? Don't score. Or play rock-paper-scissors
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest