Field Set for 2014 Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge

by -
Dabo Swinney in the 2012 Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge

Greensboro, Ga. (April 15, 2014) – An 11-team field of NCAA head coaches and celebrity alumni is set to compete in the eighth annual Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament. Top national coaches such as Frank Beamer, Nick Saban, Steve Spurrier and many others will hit the links, all vying for their share of the $520,000 scholarship purse for their universities.

The nation’s premier head coach and celebrity golf event will be held April 27-29 at the Reynolds Plantation resort on Lake Oconee outside Atlanta. In the past seven years, the Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge has provided more than $4 million in scholarship and charitable contributions.

“This event is really a celebration of college football, with National Coaches of the Year, Heisman Trophy winners and celebrity alumni, all representing their universities in a competition for scholarship money for their schools,” said Gary Stokan, president and CEO of the Chick-fil-A Bowl.

The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge main event features pairings that include a university head coach and a celebrity or former athlete from the same school competing in a scramble format against other university teams from around the country. The tournament will be broadcast by ESPN in August and December. Specific dates will be announced this summer.

Over the three-day event, several tournament rounds will be played in addition to the televised round of coaches and celebrities. The field of competitors for the featured round is scheduled to include three former winning teams including Paul Johnson and Jon Barry of Georgia Tech (2011, 2012), Steve Spurrier and Sterling Sharpe from South Carolina (2008, 2009), and Virginia Tech’s Frank Beamer (2007).

A new addition to this year’s field of competitors is Team Cincinnati, featuring Head Coach Tommy Tuberville and celebrity partner JK Schaffer, a linebacker for the Cincinnati Bengals.

The field of competitors for the featured event is scheduled to include:

Alabama		Nick Saban		Mark Ingram
Auburn		Gus Malzahn		Bo Jackson
Cincinnati	Tommy Tuberville	JK Schaffer
Clemson		Dabo SwinneyDabo Swinney
Head Coach
View Full Profile		Steve Fuller
Georgia Tech	Paul Johnson		Jon Barry	2011, 2012 Winners

Mississippi St	Dan Mullen		Fred McCrary
North Carolina	Larry Fedora		Roy Williams
NC State	Dave Doeren		Terry Harvey
Ole Miss	Hugh Freeze		Sean Tuohy
South Carolina	Steve Spurrier		Sterling Sharpe	2008, 2009 Winners

Virginia Tech	Frank Beamer		TBA		2007 Winner
Post your comments!

Photos: Clemson vs. Boston College

Swinney recaps "weird" day against BC, previews Virginia Tech

Swinney updates several injuries on team

Vegas odds on Clemson-Virginia Tech

Twitter reacts to Deshaun Watson's performance vs. Patriots

WATCH: Deshaun Watson has video game moves

WATCH: Watson throws a laser for another TD against Patriots

Alabama builds lead on Clemson in AP poll

WATCH: Deshaun Watson throws 29-yard TD pass to Bruce Ellington
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest