Watkins added to Maxwell Club Watch List

by -

Southampton, PA The Maxwell Football Club today announced the final additions to its 2011 Watch Lists for both the 75th Maxwell Award and the 17th Chuck Bednarik Award.
The original lists were comprised of 65 players, who were selected based on their performances during the 2010 season. As the 2011 season has progressed, the Club believes that several additional players warrant attention because of their noteworthy play. Players added to the watch list for the 75th Maxwell Award include Silas Redd (Penn State) and Sammy WatkinsSammy Watkins
Fr. Wide Receiver
#7 6-1, 200
Fort Myers, FL

View Full Profile
(Clemson). N.C. State defensive back David Amerson was the lone addition to the watch list for the 17th Chuck Bednarik Award.
Redd, a sophomore running back from Norwalk, Connecticut, leads the Big Ten in rushing with 869 yards on 165 carries (5.3) and 6 touchdowns. He has posted 4 straight games of over 125 yards rushing for the Nittany Lions.
Watkins has had a breakout season for Clemson. To date he has 54 receptions for 819 yards and 9 touchdowns. He is averaging 173.9 all purpose yards a game for the Tigers. Watkins is a true freshman and a native of Ft. Meyers, Florida.
Amerson a sophomore defensive back for the Wolfpack leads the FBS ranks in interceptions with 8 for the season which is 3 more than his closest pursuer. He has tied the N.C. State single season record for interceptions that was set by Art Rooney in 1937 and again in 1938. He has had three games this fall in which he registered 2 interceptions and returned one for a touchdown against Virginia. He is a native of Greensboro, North Carolina.
The Maxwell Football Club will announce Semi-Finalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards on Monday October 31,2011. Semi-Finalist voting will begin on November 1st. All questions concerning the awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club can be directed to: Mr. Mark Wolpert (MFC Executive Director) at mwolpert@maxwellfootballclub.org, or to Mr. Richard Cirminiello (Director of Collegiate Awards) at rcirminiello@maxwellfootballclub.org. The presentation of the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards live on Thursday, Dec. 8, at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN's Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard will feature the live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney's Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team. Fans can visit the show's dedicated Web site at www.espncollegefootballawards.com to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights. The Maxwell Club and its awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website, ncfaa.org .

Read the full article here

Send Feedback to TigerNet Staff: Email | Comment
Post your comments!

Robbie Tinsley: Warning bells need to be heard, heeded by Tigers

Swinney's Monday injury update

3-star SF commits to Clemson

Hokies coach on facing Clemson: "It’s like defusing a bomb"

Scott: Feaster and Etienne are above the rest

Clemson safety moved to cornerback

Photos: Clemson vs. Boston College - 2

Muse: "I love what I see from this defense"

Bryant: "We didn't play as good as we needed to play"
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest