Clemson Football Award Winners

by -

Clemson, SC—Clemson Head Coach Dabo Swinney announced award winners for the 2009 football season at the team’s awards banquet on Saturday evening. The Tigers concluded the season with a 9-5 record, Atlantic Division Champions of the Atlantic Coast Conference, and as the #24 ranked team in the nation by Associated Press.

C.J. Spiller brought home the most hardware as he was named the Solid Rock Award winner for the running backs, was the team’s MVP of the special teams, and was named the team’s MVP on offense. He was also presented with a special Award, the John Heisman Award. The John Heisman Award is presented to a Clemson football player who is named a unanimous first-team All-American.

Spiller was named the Most Valuable Player of the Atlantic Coast Conference, the first Clemson player to win that award since 1986. He was a first-team All-American by every service. He was the only player in the nation to score at least one touchdown in every one of his team’s games and he ranked fourth in the nation in all-purpose running (2588 yards) and fifth in total touchdowns with 21.

DeAndre McDaniel was named the MVP of the defense. McDaniel was a first-team All-American according to the Football Writers Association and a first-team All-ACC selection. He had eight interceptions to tie a Clemson record, and finished fourth on the team in tackles with 102. He became the first player in Clemson history with eight interceptions and at least 100 tackles in the same year.

The list of Award Winners Follows:

Offense Awards

Solid Rock Award—Most solid, consistent, and dependable player by position:

QB—Kyle Parker

RB—C.J. Spiller

WR—Jacoby Ford

TE—Michael Palmer

OL—Thomas Austin

Hustle Award—Player who gave consistent effort throughout the year and served as an inspiration to his teammates:

Terrance Ashe

12th Man Award—Contributed the most off the bench

Jamie Harper and Andre Ellington

Rookie of the Year

Kyle Parker and Dalton Freeman

Iron Man Award—Dependable player who played through injury

Chad Diehl

Special Teams Player of the Year

C.J. Spiller

Scout Team Player of the Year

Tajh Boyd and Caleb Simmons

Most Valuable Player

C.J. Spiller

Defensive Awards

Solid Rock Award

DB—Marcus Gilchrist

DT—Jarvis Jenkins

DE—Kevin Alexander

LB—Kavell Conner

Hustle Award

Chris Chancellor and Crezdon Butler

12th Man Award

Andre Branch

Iron Man Award

Ricky Sapp

Rookie of the Year Award

Mallaciah Goodman and Rashard Hall

Special Teams Player of the Year

Kevin Alexander

Scout Team Player of the Year

Tyler Shatley and Spencer Shuey

Specialist of the Year

Michael Wade

Defensive MVP

DeAndre McDaniel

Academic Awards

Highest GPA (Freshmen) Matt Skinner

Highest GPA (Sophomores) Dawson Zimmerman

Highest GPA (juniors) Byron Clear

Highest GPA (Seniors) Michael Clear

Highest GPA (Team) Caleb Simmons

Vickery Hall Award to individuals that exemplify the values of Vickery Hall:

Ronald Watson, DeAndre McDaniel, Michael Palmer, Jaron Brown

Weight Room Awards

Strength All-Americans:

Offense: Thomas Austin

Defense: Kevin Alexander

Dedication Award

Offense: Chad Diehl

Defense: Kavell Conner

Permanent Captains Awards

Offense: Michael Palmer, Thomas Austin, C.J. Spiller

Defense: Chris Chancellor, Ricky Sapp, Kavell Conner

Rate this Story:
25 votes


After Potter's big week, Tigers now have three commits rated best at their position

Swinney compares Watson to Joe Montana and Tom Brady

WATCH: Swinney's impersonation of ESPN's Stephen A. Smith

Clemson's Top Tight Ends and Offensive Linemen

WATCH: Swinney celebrates a catch at ESPN

Robbie Caldwell on the OL: "We've got a chance to be pretty good"

WATCH: Deon Cain beats Tavien Feaster in a foot race

Mike Williams denies season-ending surgery report

Your new favorite player? It might just be Darnell Jefferies
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest