Virginia, Clemson top two seeds for 2010 ACC Baseball Championship

by -

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Coastal Division champion Virginia and Atlantic Division co-champion Clemson will be the two top seeded teams for the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Baseball Championship, which will be held from Wednesday, May 26 though Sunday, May 30, at NewBridge Bank Park.

As the No. 1 overall seed, Virginia (23-7 ACC) will be placed atop Division A and will be joined by No. 4 Miami (20-10), No. 5 Florida State (18-12) and No. 8 Boston College (14-16).

Clemson (18-12) is the No. 2 seed and will be joined in Division B by No. 3 Georgia Tech (21-9), No. 6 Virginia Tech (16-13) and No. 7 NC State (15-15).

Under the pool-play format, each team will play one game against each of the other three opponents in its division Wednesday-Saturday (May 26-29). The two teams with the best records within their respective division brackets will advance to the title game on Sunday, May 30, with the winner earning the ACC’s automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament.

Complete pairings, dates and game times for the entire 2010 ACC Baseball Championship will be released by 5 p.m. on Sunday (May 23). Visit for more information.

In addition to being this year’s top-seeded team, Virginia is the defending tournament champion, having won the 2009 title at Durham, N.C., as the No. 6 seed.

Fans can still purchase tickets to next week's competition. Complete books to all 13 games are available, as well as individual game tickets. Online ticket information can be found at

All 13 games of this year’s ACC Baseball Championship will be televised for the fourth straight year via RSN, a regional network that covers the entire conference footprint. Please check for local affiliates and stations.

In addition, ISP Sports will again be the national radio carrier of this year’s league tournament via XM radio and ISP’s national network of affiliates. Live stats will also be available at the ACC Baseball Championship site.


May 26-30 at NewBridge Park (Greensboro, N.C.)

DIVISION A – No. 1 Virginia, No. 4 MIami, No. 5 Florida State, No. 8 Boston College

DIVISION B – No. 2 Clemson, No. 3 Georgia Tech, No. 6 Virginia Tech, No. 7 NC State

Round-robin pool play will be held May 26-29 (game times Noon, 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. each day). The winner of each division will then advance to meet in the championship game on Sunday, May 30, at 1 p.m.

Rate this Story:
17 votes


WATCH: Dabo Swinney at South Carolina Coaches for Charity event

Clemson Basketball to face Ohio in tournament

Todd Bates: "Why wouldn't you want to come to Clemson?"

ESPN makes changes including more Jesse Palmer, Booger McFarland

SC QB commit promises to never lose to Clemson

Venables on the shovel pass: When we stone it, zoom in on me

WATCH: Christian Wilkins does cartwheels while playing dodgeball

WATCH: Dabo Swinney on ESPN's College Football Live

WATCH: Feaster ranked as Top 3 breakout running back in ACC
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest