Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
Please straighten me out regarding the ASTRO theater
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 28
| visibility 1

Please straighten me out regarding the ASTRO theater

May 23, 2017, 11:33 AM

I think I seen several references on T-net to the ASTRO being open pre-1980. I graduated in 1981 and don't remember the ASTRO being open, or if it was, it had just opened. I don't remember going to see a movie there (which I'm sure I would have had it been open).

I was not kind to my brain cells in my college years and I could be just misremembering :).

Are people assuming the the old theater dowtown was named "The ASTRO". That theater (now "Tiger Sports Shop") was just known as the "Clemson Theater" and was the only off-campus theater in Clemson. (Holtzendorf, the old YMCA building, had a theater and provided free movies to students on Sunday nights while I was there).

I'm pretty sure the ASTRO was in competition with the Clemson Theater and led to it closing in 1984.
So, if I'm wrong please straighten me out. Does anybody KNOW when the ASTRO opened??

2024 orange level memberbadge-donor-05yr.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: Please straighten me out regarding the ASTRO theater

May 23, 2017, 11:36 AM

I know that Last Tango in Paris played there in the fall of 1973...and it was named The Astro at that time.

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

May 23, 2017, 3:19 PM